These notes are placed here primarily to assist students enrolled in the course; they are not intended as polished documents. All notes are copyright © Russell C. Bjork. Students enrolled in CPS311 may reproduce these notes for personal study; all other rights are reserved.

  1. Course Introduction; The Level of Computer Structure; Architecture and Organization
  2. Introduction to Digital Logic
  3. Sequential Circuits
  4. Representing Information in Binary
  5. Error Detecting and Correcting Codes
  6. Introduction to the MIPS Architecture and Assembly Language
  7. Control Structures
  8. Procedures
  9. Exceptions and Interrupts
  10. Other CPU Architectures
  11. CPU Implementation; the Register Transfer Level
  12. Control Unit Implementation: Hardwired Control and Microprogramming
  13. Pipelining and Superscalar Architectures
  14. Memory Devices
  15. Memory Hierarchies
  16. Input-Output Devices and Interfacing
  17. Parallelism
  18. Performance Evaluation