These notes are placed here primarily to assist students enrolled in the course; they are not intended as polished documents. All notes are copyright © Russell C. Bjork. Students enrolled in CPS311 may reproduce these notes for personal study; all other rights are reserved.

  1. Course Introduction; The Level of Computer Structure; Architecture and Organization
  2. Introduction to Digital Logic
  3. Sequential Circuits
  4. Representing Information in Binary
  5. Error Detecting and Correcting Codes li>Introduction to the MIPS Architecture and Assembly Language
  6. Control Structures
  7. Procedures
  8. Exceptions and Interrupts
  9. Other CPU Architectures
  10. CPU Implementation; the Register Transfer Level
  11. Control Unit Implementation: Hardwired Control and Microprogramming
  12. Pipelining and Superscalar Architectures
  13. Memory Devices
  14. Memory Hierarchies
  15. Input-Output Devices and Interfacing
  16. Parallelism
  17. Performance Evaluation